Act for future

Act for future

How to develop future-proof solutions by addressing increasing sustainability needs

WHAT IS “ACT FOR FUTURE” ALL ABOUT?

Sustainability has been a major consumer concern influencing the food & beverage industry for many years already. However, the trend has evolved from awareness about the topic to taking action. This  is the reason why we have chosen the name “act for future” for this megatrend.

According to Mintel, sustainability has become an “expectation” for food & beverage companies to offer to consumers – just like nutrition. In 2019, 87% of consumers expect companies to invest in sustainability – 22% more than in the previous year (Source: Innova Market Insights). 57% of consumers globally have become more concerned about environmental issues as a result of Covid-19 and they believe they will be stay concerned once Covid-19 has passed (Source: FMCG Gurus).

 

Just as sustainability is not one-dimensional, also our consumer trend “Act for future” has several sub-trends addressing the different facets of the topic:

  • Cyclicality: Circular economy approach with a special focus on avoiding food waste and plastic to save the environment. In May 2020, 63% of consumers globally stated that they have made more attempts to reduce food waste compared to pre Covid-19 levels (Source: FMCG Gurus).
  • Backbone: Tackling the social aspect of sustainability by turning to brands and companies who are treating all people and animals well.
  • Diversify for good: Biodiversity and regenerative agriculture as means to secure the future food supply for an ever-growing population.

 

HOW DO WE LIVE SUSTAINABILITY AT AGRANA FRUIT

At AGRANA Fruit sustainability is part of our DNA. We define it as a harmonious balance of economic, environmental and social responsibility. We care about the planet and its people. Our ambition is to be a sustainable company for a better future.

Our sustainability strategy focuses on three key issues:

  1. Eco efficiency: Maximizing the efficiency of our production to preserve resources
  2. Sourcing practices: Sourcing our raw material in a way that -positively impacts the environmental and social aspects along our supply chain
  3. Our people: Dedicated to current and future employees

 

AVOIDING FOOD WASTE

One of the guiding principles in sustainability for us at AGRANA Fruit is to utilize almost 100% of our agricultural raw materials and use low-emission technologies to minimize impacts on the environment. Therefore, it is clear for us that we reduce or re-use the organic waste in our production as much as possible.

The generated organic waste in form of by-products that is not suitable to be used for further food production, is used for animal feed. We feed pigs and bears with our organic waste from the production of fruit preparations in Brazil, France, Korea, Russia and Ukraine. Organic residues that are also not suitable for animal feed go either to compost or to biogas production. In Australia we provide our residues for compost and in Germany and Austria we send it to biogas production.

 

 

REGENERATIVE AGRICULTURE FOR MORE BIODIVERSITY

The Food & Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO) says biodiversity is indispensable to food security and sustainable development. It helps to create and maintain healthy soils, provides place for pollinating plants, controls pests and gives habitat to wildlife.

One important strategy topic closely linked to biodiversity is regenerative agriculture. According to regenerativeagriculturedefinition.com “regenerative agriculture is a system of farming principles and practices that increases biodiversity, enriches soils, improves watersheds, and enhances ecosystem services. It aims to capture carbon in soil and aboveground biomass, reversing current global trends of atmospheric accumulation. At the same time, it offers increased yields, resilience to climate instability, and higher health and vitality for farming and ranching communities”. This means regenerative agriculture not only does less harm to the environment, it actively regenerates natural systems that support food production.

 

 

For our business at AGRANA Fruit we foresee the following principles as the most important ones for regenerative agriculture:

  • Maintain soil cover
  • Minimize soil disturbance (tillage)
  • Maximize biodiversity (diversity of crops and of the ecosystem’s fauna & flora)
  • Minimize the usage of chemicals

At AGRANA Fruit we believe in sustainability and doing good for the planet. Therefore, regenerative farming is one of the major pillars of our sustainability approach.

 

FEELING INSPIRED?

AGRANA Fruit is happy to partner with you in a sustainability or regenerative agriculture project. Together we can contribute for a better world of tomorrow with a sustainable food production.

Contact
 

For more updates please click here and follow us on LinkedIN!

For more updates please click here and follow us on LinkedIN!

AGRANA Fruit Newsletter

Don't miss out on a blog post – subscribe to our
AGRANA Fruit Newsletter!

Act for future

Handeln für die Zukunft –
Act for Future

Zukunftsorientierte Lösungen für steigende Anforderungen in Nachhaltigkeit

UM WAS GEHT ES BEI „ACT FOR FUTURE“?

Nachhaltigkeit ist seit vielen Jahren ein wichtiges Anliegen der Konsumenten, welches die Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie beeinflusst. Der Trend hat sich mittlerweise jedoch vom  reinen Bewusstsein für das Thema zum Aufruf zum Handeln entwickelt. Deshalb heißt unser Megatrend „Act for future“.

Laut Mintel ist Nachhaltigkeit zu einer „Erwartung“ geworden, die Lebensmittel- und Getränkeunternehmen den Verbrauchern anbieten müssen - genau wie Ernährung. Im Jahr 2019 erwarten 87% der Konsumenten, dass Unternehmen in Nachhaltigkeit investieren - 22% mehr als im Vorjahr (Quelle: Innova Market Insights). 57% der Verbraucher weltweit sind aufgrund von Covid-19 mehr besorgt über Umweltprobleme als vorher und glauben, dass sich das auch  nach dem Ende von Covid-19 nicht ändern wird (Quelle: FMCG Gurus).

 

So wie Nachhaltigkeit nicht eindimensional ist, weist auch unser Trend „Act for Future“ mehrere Subtrends auf, die sich mit den verschiedenen Facetten des Themas befassen:

  • Cyclicality: Kreislaufwirtschaftsansatz mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf der Vermeidung von Lebensmittelabfällen und Plastik zum Schutz der Umwelt. Im Mai 2020 gaben 63% der Verbraucher weltweit an, dass sie mehr Versuche unternommen haben, Lebensmittelverschwendung zu reduzieren als vor Covid-19 (Quelle: FMCG Gurus).
  • Backbone: Den sozialen Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit in Angriff nehmen, indem Marken und Unternehmen bevorzugt werden, die Menschen und Tiere gut behandeln.
  • Diversify for good: Biodiversität und regenerative Landwirtschaft als Mittel zur Sicherung der künftigen Nahrungsmittelversorgung einer ständig wachsenden Bevölkerung.

 

WIE WIR NACHHALTIGKEIT BEI AGRANA FRUIT LEBEN

Bei AGRANA Fruit ist Nachhaltigkeit Teil unserer DNA. Wir definieren es als ein harmonisches Gleichgewicht zwischen wirtschaftlicher, ökologischer und sozialer Verantwortung. Wir kümmern uns um den Planeten und seine Menschen. Unser Ziel ist es, ein nachhaltiges Unternehmen für eine bessere Zukunft zu sein.

Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie konzentriert sich auf drei Hauptthemen:

  1. Ökoeffizienz: Maximierung der Effizienz unserer Produktion zur Schonung der Ressourcen
  2. Beschaffungspraktiken: Beschaffung unserer Rohstoffe in einer Weise, die sich positiv auf die ökologischen und sozialen Aspekte entlang unserer Wertschöpfungskette auswirkt
  3. Unsere Mitarbeiter: Engagiert für aktuelle und zukünftige Mitarbeiter

 

LEBENSMITTELABFÄLLE VERMEIDEN

Eines der Leitprinzipien für Nachhaltigkeit bei AGRANA Fruit ist, dass wir fast 100% unserer landwirtschaftlichen Rohstoffe verwenden und emissionsarme Technologien einsetzen, um die Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt zu minimieren. Daher ist es für uns klar, dass wir den organischen Abfall in unserer Produktion so weit wie möglich reduzieren oder wiederverwenden.

Der erzeugte organische Abfall in Form von Nebenprodukten, der nicht für die weitere Lebensmittelproduktion geeignet ist, wird als Tierfutter verwendet. Wir füttern Schweine und Bären mit unseren organischen Abfällen aus der Herstellung von Fruchtzubereitungen in Brasilien, Frankreich, Korea, Russland und der Ukraine. Organische Rückstände, die auch nicht für Tierfutter geeignet sind, gelangen entweder in den Kompost oder in die Biogasproduktion. In Australien liefern wir unsere Rückstände für Kompost und in Deutschland und Österreich senden wir sie an die Biogasproduktion (Methan).

 

 

REGENERATIVE LANDWIRTSCHAFT FÜR MEHR BIODIVERSITÄT

Die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO) sagt, dass die biologische Vielfalt für die Ernährungssicherheit und die nachhaltige Entwicklung unverzichtbar ist. Es hilft, gesunde Böden zu schaffen und zu erhalten, bietet Platz für die Bestäubung von Pflanzen, bekämpft Schädlinge und gibt der Tierwelt Lebensraum.

Eine wichtige Strategie, die eng mit der biologischen Vielfalt verbunden ist, ist die regenerative Landwirtschaft. Laut regenerativeagriculturedefinition.com ist „regenerative Landwirtschaft ein System von landwirtschaftlichen Prinzipien und Praktiken, welches die biologische Vielfalt erhöht, Böden bereichert, Wassereinzugsgebiete und Ökosystemleistungen verbessert. Ziel ist es, Kohlenstoff im Boden und in der oberirdischen Biomasse zu binden und so die aktuellen globalen Trends der atmosphärischen Akkumulation umzukehren. Gleichzeitig bietet es höhere Erträge, Widerstandsfähigkeit gegen Klimainstabilität sowie eine höhere Gesundheit und Vitalität für Landwirtschafts- und Viehzuchtgemeinschaften.“ Dies bedeutet, dass die regenerative Landwirtschaft nicht nur die Umwelt weniger schädigt, sondern auch natürliche Systeme, die die Lebensmittelproduktion unterstützen, aktiv regeneriert.
 

 

Für unser Geschäft bei AGRANA Fruit sehen wir die folgenden Grundsätze als die wichtigsten für die regenerative Landwirtschaft an:

  • Bodenbedeckung pflegen
  • Bodenstörungen minimieren (Bodenbearbeitung)
  • Maximierung der biologischen Vielfalt (Vielfalt der Kulturen sowie der Fauna und Flora des Ökosystems)
  • Minimieren des Einsatzes von Chemikalien

Wir bei AGRANA Fruit glauben an Nachhaltigkeit und tun Gutes für den Planeten. Daher ist die regenerative Landwirtschaft eine der wichtigsten Säulen unseres Nachhaltigkeitsansatzes.

 

Fühlen Sie sich inspiriert?

AGRANA Fruit freut sich, mit Ihnen in einem Projekt für Nachhaltigkeit oder regenerative Landwirtschaft zusammenzuarbeiten. Gemeinsam können wir mit einer nachhaltigen Lebensmittelproduktion zu einer besseren Welt von morgen beitragen.

Kontakt
 

Für mehr Neuigkeiten folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIN

Für mehr Neuigkeiten folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIN

AGRANA Fruit Newsletter

Keinen Blogbeitrag verpassen – abonnieren Sie unseren
AGRANA Fruit Newsletter!