Comfort Food

Food as our rediscovered form of comfort

How food helps us to cope with feelings of anxiety and boredom in uncertain times

THE RIGHT TIME TO EXPERIENCE COMFORT THROUGH FOOD

Food has always been a form of pleasure. We acknowledge this with our 2020 consumer trend “Live Intense”. In this trend we highlight the importance of multi-sensory food experiences and have identified the following three sub-trends:

  • #foodporn: A widely used hashtag to share indulgent and intriguing food experiences on social media which has been picked up by food and beverage manufacturers. With a variety of colors, textures and tastes, it goes without saying that these products provide a pleasantly surprising multi-sensory experience.
  • Attention: To be able to provide the experience, you need to first fight for the attention. In times when consumers face an information overload, creative ways to attract consumer attention like gamification, pop-up events, limited offers and show cooking with “rock star chefs” have started to emerge.
  • World foods: So far, travelling has increased steadily. In addition to consumers getting used to broadening their horizons when it comes to food and beverages, they also want to discover new things when they are at home – even more so during times of lockdowns or travel restrictions because of COVID-19. Besides Japanese cuisine being in the spotlight, other emerging cuisines this year have come from Central Asia and Africa.

Food as an experience and a source of pleasure is nothing new. However, given the current situation of lockdowns and restrictions in our daily lives because of COVID-19, this topic has been receiving even more attention among consumers.  The external uncertainty of a global pandemic coupled with an economic crisis, has led to feelings of stress and anxiety among many. In addition, spending more time at home than usual can also lead to boredom.

In this article we explore comfort food and how it is used to deal with stress and anxiety.  There are lots of opportunities for food manufacturers, retailers and food service operators to tap into this opportunity. 

 

What is Comfort Food?

According to the Cambridge Dictionary, comfort food is defined as “the type of food that people eat when they are sad or worried, often sweet food or food that people ate as children”. This means that it is a very individualized concept, and everybody has his or her own definition of comfort food.

Some food categories such as ice cream, confectionery, savory snacks and desserts are being perceived as more suitable forms of comfort food. However, what they have in common is that when consumers seek comfort in food, they usually do not pay attention to their caloric intake or the nutritional value of the food products they consume. During COVID-19, 56% of consumers globally have bought more comfort food compared to pre-COVID-19 levels of purchasing. In the Americas, this consumer segment is even higher at more than 60% (Source: FMCG Gurus).

Therefore, these are several dimensions of comfort food to explore:

  • Snacking: Being at home a lot more than usual causes consumers to look out for snacks for a nice break or distraction in between. Snacking products for in-home consumption are on the rise.
  • Indulgence: It nearly goes without saying that indulgence is a major element for comfort food. You want to allow yourself an enjoyable and indulgent moment.
  • Affordable treats: Especially during the current uncertain times and a global recession ahead of us, it is key that the treats are not just indulgent, but also affordable.
  • Nostalgia: As mentioned in the definition, comfort food often reminds us of food from our childhood. Nostalgia is thus an interesting element to explore here, which needs to be highly tailored to the local market as traditional dishes vary from country to country and sometimes even differ from one region to another within a country.
  • Texture: Interestingly, texture also plays a role in comfort food. Consumers associate some textures with comfort food more than others. For example, 49% of Chinese consumers associate a “smooth” texture with comfort food. Thick, sandy or coarse textures are considered the least connected to comfort food. (Source: Mintel)

 

China: 'which of the following texture of foods would you choose as comfort foods (foods used to adjust mood)'?, consumers who have used food to adjust mood, % of consumers who agree, April 2018

 

Below are some comfort food concepts from different markets:

 

Feeling inspired?

Do you feel inspired to launch your next product? AGRANA Fruit is the right partner to support you in developing a solution that fits with the latest consumer needs and your brand. Let our innovation team co-create the next indulgent and affordable treat together with you.

Contact
 

For more updates please click here and follow us on LinkedIN!

For more updates please click here and follow us on LinkedIN!

AGRANA Fruit Newsletter

Don't miss out on a blog post – subscribe to our
AGRANA Fruit Newsletter!

Comfort Food

Essen für die Psyche –
„Comfort Food“

Wie Essen uns hilft, in unsicheren Zeiten mit Angstgefühlen und Langeweile umzugehen

DER RICHTIGE ZEITPUNKT FÜR „Comfort Food“

Essen war schon immer eine Form des Genusses. Wir widmen uns diesem Thema in unserem globalen 2020 Trend „Live Intense“. Hier unterstreichen wir die Bedeutung multisensorischer Genusserlebnisse und haben die folgenden drei Subtrends identifiziert:

  • #foodporn: Ein weit verbreiteter Hashtag, um Genussmomente und faszinierende Esserlebnisse in sozialen Medien zu teilen, die von Lebensmittel- und Getränkeherstellern aufgegriffen wurden. Mit einer Vielzahl an Farben, Texturen und Geschmacksrichtungen bieten diese Produkte selbstverständlich ein angenehm überraschendes multisensorisches Erlebnis.
  • Attention: Um nach außen sichtbar zu sein, muss man zuerst um die Aufmerksamkeit der Konsumenten kämpfen. In Zeiten in denen Verbraucher einer Flut an Informationen ausgesetzt sind, haben Firmen kreative Maßnahmen entwickelt, um die Aufmerksamkeit der Verbraucher zu erregen. Dazu zählen unter anderem Gamification, Pop-up-Events, zeitlich begrenzte Angebote und Showkochen mit „Rockstar-Köchen“.
  • World foods: Konsumenten sind es gewöhnt ihren Horizont in Bezug auf Lebensmittel und Getränke durch Reisen zu erweitern. Daher möchten sie auch zu Hause – insbesondere in Zeiten von Lockdowns oder Reisebeschränkungen aufgrund von COVID-19 - nicht darauf verzichten. Neben der japanischen Küche stehen in diesem Jahr weitere aufstrebende Küchen aus Zentralasien und Afrika im Mittelpunkt.

Essen als Erlebnis und Quelle des Vergnügens ist nichts Neues. Angesichts der aktuellen Situation von Lockdowns und Einschränkungen in unserem täglichen Leben aufgrund von COVID-19 hat dieses Thema bei den Konsumenten jedoch noch mehr Beachtung gefunden. Die äußere Unsicherheit einer globalen Pandemie in Verbindung mit einer Wirtschaftskrise hat bei vielen Stress- und Angstgefühle hervorgerufen. Darüber hinaus kann es zu Langeweile kommen, wenn man mehr Zeit zu Hause verbringt als gewöhnlich.

In diesem Artikel beschäftigen wir uns mit der Bedeutung von “Comfort Food”, um mit emotionalen Unsicherheiten  umzugehen.  Wir sehen hier auch Chancen für Lebensmittelhersteller, Einzelhändler und Food-Service-Betreiber bei der Entwicklung neuer Produkte. 

 

Was ist „Comfort Food“?

Nach dem Cambridge Dictionary wird „Comfort Food“ definiert als „Essen, welches Menschen zu sich nehmen, wenn sie traurig oder besorgt sind, oft süßes Essen oder Essen, das Menschen als Kinder gegessen haben“. Diese Definition legt nahe, dass es sich um ein sehr individuelles Konzept handelt und jeder seine eigene Definition von „Comfort Food“ hat.

Einige Lebensmittelkategorien wie Eis, Süßwaren, herzhafte Snacks und Desserts werden als die typischen Formen von Comfort Food angesehen. Sie alle haben die Gemeinsamkeit, dass Verbraucher, wenn es um „Essen für die Psyche“ geht, in der Regel nicht auf ihre Kalorienaufnahme oder den Nährwert der von ihnen konsumierten Lebensmittel achten. Während COVID-19 haben 56% der Verbraucher weltweit mehr „Comfort Food“ gekauft als vor COVID-19. In Amerika ist dieses Verbrauchersegment mit mehr als 60% sogar noch höher (Quelle: FMCG Gurus).

Es gibt verschiedene Dimensionen von „Comfort Food“, die es zu erkunden gilt:

  • Snacks: Wenn man mehr Zeit als gewöhnlich zu Hause verbringt, sucht man häufiger nach Snacks für eine kurze Pause oder Ablenkung dazwischen. Snacks für den Konsum zu Hause sind auf dem Vormarsch.
  • Genuss: Es ist fast selbstverständlich, dass Genuss ein wichtiger Teil von „Comfort Food“ ist. Man möchte sich einen angenehmen und verwöhnenden Moment gönnen.
  • Erschwingliche Naschereien: Insbesondere in den derzeit unsicheren Zeiten und einer drohenden globalen Rezession ist es wichtig, dass die Leckereien nicht nur wohlschmeckend, sondern auch erschwinglich sind.
  • Nostalgie: „Comfort Food“ wird oft in Verbindung gebracht mit Essen aus unserer Kindheit. Nostalgie ist daher ein interessantes Element, das hier benutzt werden kann und das stark auf den lokalen Markt zugeschnitten sein muss, da traditionelle Gerichte von Land zu Land variieren und sich manchmal sogar von Region zu Region innerhalb eines Landes unterscheiden.
  • Textur: Interessanterweise spielt die Textur bei „Comfort Food“ auch eine wichtige Rolle. Verbraucher verbinden einige Texturen mehr mit „Comfort Food“ als andere. Zum Beispiel assoziieren 49% der chinesischen Verbraucher eine „glatte“ Textur mit „Comfort Food“, während dicke, sandige oder grobe Texturen am wenigsten damit in Verbindung gebracht werden. (Quelle: Mintel)

 

China: 'which of the following texture of foods would you choose as comfort foods (foods used to adjust mood)'?, consumers who have used food to adjust mood, % of consumers who agree, April 2018

 

Im Folgenden zeigen wir einige Comfort Food Konzepte aus verschiedenen Märkten:

 

Fühlen Sie sich inspiriert?

Fühlen Sie sich inspiriert, den nächsten „Seelentröster“ auf den Markt zu bringen? AGRANA Fruit ist der richtige Partner, um Sie bei der Entwicklung einer Lösung zu unterstützen, die den aktuellen Kundenbedürfnissen und Ihrer Marke entsprechen. Lassen Sie unser Innovationsteam gemeinsam mit Ihnen den nächsten verwöhnenden und erschwinglichen Genuss kreieren.

Kontakt
 

Für mehr Neuigkeiten folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIN

Für mehr Neuigkeiten folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIN

AGRANA Fruit Newsletter

Keinen Blogbeitrag verpassen – abonnieren Sie unseren
AGRANA Fruit Newsletter!